South Africa

The colourful South African flag

10 Facts About South Africa

1. There are 11 official languages in South Africa: Afrikaans, English, Ndebele, Northern Sotho, Southern Sotho, Swati, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa and Zulu.

2. South Africa has a fish migration so large that you can see it from space. The shoals of fish are up to 15km in length and 3.5km wide!

3. South Africa has 3 capital cities, Pretoria (administrative capital), Cape Town (legislative capital) and Bloemfontein (judicial capital).

4. The South African flag was first used on Freedom Day in 1994.

5. Nelson Mandela was the first black President of South Africa.

6. In 2006 South Africa became the first African country to recognise same-sex marriage

7. South Africa has hosted the football, cricket and rugby world cups.

8. South Africa and Australia are the largest producers of macadamia nuts.

9. The Route 62 wine route in the Western Cape is the worlds longest wine route.

10. South Africa is 3x as big as Texas